Race Report: Hamilton Wins China, Rosberg Second, Followed by Vettel

Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg led Mercedes to a 1-2 win at Shanghai. The Chinese Grand Prix became the Briton’s 7th hat trick of pole, fastest lap and victory. Only Michael Schumacher, Jim Clark, Juan Manuel Fangio, Alain Prost and Vettel have done better. Force India finished pointless with Nico Hulkenberg retiring early for what seems like a gearbox failure and the Mexican Sergio Perez finishing 11th, just outside of the points.

Pastor Maldonado retired for the third straight time in as many races this year, as McLaren-Honda’s Jenson Button ran into his rear end on turn one of lap 49 and spun him out. Button was handed a 5 second penalty and he ultimately finished 14th behind Toro Rosso’s Carlos Sainz. Button’s teammate and former world champion Alonso fared better finishing 12th.

Chinese Grand Prix 3

Manor Marussia kept Jules Bianchi’s memory alive and with Will Stevens and Roberto Merhi finishing two laps behind the race leader at 15th and 16th places respectively. Raikkonen’s fourth place finish was trailed by Massa’s Williams, followed by the Brazilian’s teammate Valtteri Bottas.

Chinese Grand Prix 4

A freak engine failure of the Renault powered Max Verstappen’s Toro Rosso four laps before the end of the race forced the chequered flag to be waved behind the safety car. He stopped at the main straight and while the marshals tried to wheel his car to the pits, they bumped it twice on the pit wall, because of which the front wing got stuck. Toro Rosso mechanics had to rush to the scene to detach the front wing.

Chinese Grand Prix  5

Chinese Grand Prix Final Results

Here is the full result for your reference:

  1. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
  2. Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)
  3. Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari)
  4. Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari)
  5. Felipe Massa (Williams)
  6. Valtteri Bottas (Williams)
  7. Romain Gorsjean (Lotus)
  8. Felipe Nasr (Sauber)
  9. Daniel Riccardo (Red Bull)
  10. Marcus Ericsson (Sauber)
  11. Sergio Perez (Force India)
  12. Fernando Alonso (McLaren-Honda)
  13. Carlos Sainz (Toro Rosso)
  14. Jenson Button (McLaren-Honda)
  15. Will Stevens (Manor Marussia)
  16. Roberto Merhi (Manor Marussia)

#ForzaMichael #ForzaJules

Image credits: Formula1.com

Leave a Comment